THOUGHTS ON RELATIONSHIPS

My husband and I will be married 25 years this June.  So many people have a fear of commitment.  They are astonished that we’ve stayed together all this time and are more committed today then we were in the beginning.  We have had our share of drama, disagreements, misunderstandings and hard times, yet we kept on pushing on.  Where would we go?  Who would ever understand us better than this person?  People who knew us back in the day are shocked to find that their mates have moved on and we’re still together. At the beginning I was set on changing my husband.  Making him act like I thought a good mate should act.  I would cry, I would scream, I would threaten to leave him, I would throw an adult tantrum.  Nothing I did changed him in the slightest.  I would stay away for a few days thinking he would be jealous and come home to find he never got the point.  Here is my simple secret for staying married for 25 years.  Ask yourself “Do I want him in my life?  Is he basically a good man?”  if the answer is yes, then decided that nothing he could say or do will make you leave.  Don’t sweat the small stuff, as a matter of fact don’t sweat the big stuff.  Once you’ve made this decision, it get’s easier and easier.  You no longer have to the participate in the drama.  You start looking for solutions for disagreements rather then just trying to get your way.  Your here for the long haul and you really start to bond.  Stormy

Tags: ,

About mountainsisters

WELCOME TO OUR BLOG WHERE WOMEN SHARE THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND CREATIVITY ON THE PATH TO ENLIGHTENMENT. We are two women sharing our thoughts, reflections and creativity. Stormy My name is Stormy and I have spent the last 20 years working on my spiritual growth and enlightenment. I still have a long way to go, but with your help I know I’ll keep growing, learning and expanding. Shar My name is Shar and I am a meditation, yoga and Qigong practitioner. I love to cook. I am vegan. I love to walk in nature, sing, drum, play guitar, write and spend time with family and friends.

2 responses to “THOUGHTS ON RELATIONSHIPS”

  1. Katrina says :

    I like this message. My spousal equivalent throws adult temper tantrums from time to time, so I get where you;re coming from, but at the end of the day, I do want him in my life.

Leave a Reply

