FOOD FOR THOUGHT

MotherhoodLiving in Colorado has many benefits. Since moving here five years ago, after being a road traveler, occasional hiker, vegetarian and wine drinker, I have become a DAILY fat-free-vegan, walker, hiker, yogi and meditation practitioner. I have a wonderful spiritual practice, good friends and a loving family. Yes, life is good but one thing I have learned in my life is that everything changes. The moment we think we know all the answers is the moment we are lost and need to re-evaluate our thinking. Today, I am happy with the way my life is going but something WILL come up to make me change one of my behaviors. I am a perfectly happy vegan but living in the desert is hard on my skin. I am also noticing more leg cramps and other “minor” annoyances. So, maybe I will start adding sardines to my diet. I know that they are good for skin, brain and heart. I just chose not to eat them! I drink plenty of water and I am a health nut! But, I grew up on sardines! My mother ate them! She was as healthy as an ox. Strong like bull! When she died, it was from a broken heart, NOT a bad heart. She had no wrinkles at my age. Her skin was perfect. But this climate is hard and I may try a little fish to try to ward off wrinkles. Crazy? Not really. It’s all about being flexible. This life is a marvelous adventure! Live with every ounce of courage, strength, faith, joy, perseverance and love sweet love, that you got. And never stop changing. Live, Learn, Laugh and BE HAPPY! Shar-

I have copied the following article from Buzzle. Eat a good diet, whatever you do!! Enjoy!

There are so many anti-wrinkle treatments which include special skin care creams and expensive treatments at the doctor’s clinic or at a spa. However, if you are looking for a more natural, safe and affordable way to keep your skin healthy and glowing young, then form an anti-wrinkle diet which contains foodstuff which are loaded with antioxidants. Wondering, what are antioxidants? In our body due to the oxidation process, free radicals are produced. This is a natural process, however these free radicals are to be blamed for producing aging effects like wrinkles and spots on the skin, and in certain cases can lead to cancer. Antioxidants act like scavengers for these free radicals, thus preventing the body from the damage done by free radicals. Here is a list of foods that you should include in your diet to maintain young and healthy skin.

Water: The first thing on the list is water. Though it is technically not a food, but something that the body essentially needs. By drinking plenty of water throughout the day, you can keep the toxins flushed out of your system. Also, drinking water helps to hydrate the skin, and thus helps to maintain it soft, smooth and supple.

Green Tea: Green tea is one of the richest source of antioxidants, and contains amounts higher than that found in oranges, which makes it one of the best anti-aging food. Green tea not just has anti-wrinkle benefits but it also helps to reduce weight. Green tea is caffeine free, so keep having 2-3 cups of green tea for wrinkle free skin care.

Blueberries: Blueberries contain 40 percent more antioxidants than strawberries. They are rich in vitamin C, thus help to strengthen collagen formation and reduce the effects of aging.

Cashew Nuts: Most of the nuts are good for anti-aging, especially nuts like cashew nuts and almonds. Cashews make great antioxidant defenses and help in production of the skin and hair pigment called melanin.

Salmon: Omega-3 essential fatty acids are very beneficial to maintain good skin health, as they help to reduce inflammation and help to lubricate. Salmon fish is a good source to get omega-3 fatty acids.

Carrots: Carrots contain powerful antioxidants called beta carotene. This antioxidant helps to lower the amount of free radicals in the body, and thus helps to maintain the outer layer of the skin and prevent premature aging. Carrot juice benefits for skin are not just limited to keep it young, but it also helps to prevent zits and lighten the complexion.

Avocado: Many fruits are good for the skin care, however avocado tops the list among fruits, though it is many times eaten as a vegetable. It is a good source of healthy monounsaturated fats, and vitamin E. Vitamin E can help to maintain healthy skin, and prevent skin aging.

Yams: Yams and sweet potatoes are rich in vitamin A, which is popular as an anti-wrinkle substance. Many skin creams contain vitamin A. So, include these tubers in your anti-wrinkle diet to get the skin benefits.

Garlic: Having a raw clove of garlic everyday helps to protect the body against heart related diseases. Garlic has tissue restorative property which makes it a good natural anti-wrinkle skin care product.

Tomatoes: Tomatoes contain a chemical called lycopene. Lycopene benefits in reducing skin cell damage and redness of the skin. To absorb lycopene, it needs to be mixed with a healthy fat. So, make a tomato salad and add a dressing of virgin olive oil to it, to enhance the absorption of this beneficial anti-aging chemical.

Apart from eating these foods, performing 20-40 minutes physical activity and taking steam once in a while, will further help your skin look young and healthy.

Tags: , , ,

About mountainsisters

WELCOME TO OUR BLOG WHERE WOMEN SHARE THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND CREATIVITY ON THE PATH TO ENLIGHTENMENT. We are two women sharing our thoughts, reflections and creativity. Stormy My name is Stormy and I have spent the last 20 years working on my spiritual growth and enlightenment. I still have a long way to go, but with your help I know I’ll keep growing, learning and expanding. Shar My name is Shar and I am a meditation, yoga and Qigong practitioner. I love to cook. I am vegan. I love to walk in nature, sing, drum, play guitar, write and spend time with family and friends.

15 responses to “FOOD FOR THOUGHT”

  1. Jane Johnson says :

    Great advice…thanks for sharing.

  2. http://hydrocollagenantiaging.com says :

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter
    updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  3. Equinox Anti Aging says :

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i
    read this paragraph i thought i could also make comment due to this
    sensible paragraph.

  4. Hydrocollagen Wrinkle Cream says :

    Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and
    you are just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

  5. http://rvtlskincare.com says :

    It is not my first time to pay a quick visit this web site, i am browsing this web page dailly
    and take good data from here daily.

  6. http://rvtlantiaging.org says :

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say
    that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  7. Xtreme Gain Muscle Reviews says :

    It’s an awesome paragraph for all the internet users; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  8. Evie says :

    What’s up, everything is going fine here and ofcourse
    every one is sharing data, that’s truly good, keep up writing.

  9. metal flat roof says :

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and
    I was wondering your situation; many of us have
    developed some nice methods and we are looking to swap techniques with others, please
    shoot me an e-mail if interested.

Leave a Reply

